It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library guide Law: Legal databases a-z
Overview of legal literature, law sources and information relating to academic education and research
Containing the full texts of the most important decisions made in international criminal tribunals, including concurring, separate and dissenting opinions. Distinguished experts in the field of international criminal law have commented the most important decisions of:
Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC).
International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY).
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR).
Special Court for Sierra Leone (SCSL).
International Criminal Tribunal for Timor-Leste (SPCS).
Database of the United Nations that contains also links to online collections of treaties and other relevant international law instruments maintained by the United Nations and other international organizations, States and private entities
Database containing information about treaties and (if available) links to full-text
Beck-onlineGermany, Law, Books, Commentaries, Journals, Journal articles, Case law, Legislation
A database containing the following resources on German Law: journals, journal articles, books, commentaries, legislation and case law. Note: If you as a student/employee of Radboud University want to create alerts and/or reading lists in Beck-online, Beck will ask you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as a student/employee. Manual Access: Beck-online can only be consulted on campus or eduVPN.
Site of the official body in the Benelux region responsible for the registration of trademarks and designs with links on the website to regulations concerning intellectual property, jurisprudence refusals and Opposition - Decisions and Jurisprudence Coverage: approximately 1997 - … (case law)
Incomplete collection of text of expired Alien acts, Aliens Act Implementation Guidelines, Interim Supplements to the Aliens Act Implementation Guidelines and Aliens Act Implementation Guidelines (Amendment) Decrees
A country-by-country survey of constitutional law throughout the world, and is also in the process of publishing, in one source, all of the constitutions of the world in English translations.
Each national monograph includes detailed information of the country’s political system, historical background, sources of constitutional law, form of government (outlining the legal status, the competence and the working of central state powers, etc.), state form and subdivisions of the state, component states and decentralized authorities, citizenship (especially nationality and the legal position of aliens), and specific problems such as foreign relations, taxing and spending power, emergency laws, the power of the military, and the constitutional relation between Church and State. Manual
Quick and easy guidance on a variety of corporate and partnership considerations that arise in international business, such as mergers, rights and duties of interested parties, stock exchange directives, labour laws, and takeovers. This encyclopaedia intends to cover both national (more than 30 countries) and international law on corporations and partnerships. Manual
Official website of the Court of Justice of the European Union with the complete texts of Judgments, orders and opinions from the Court of Justice (Court of Justice, General Court and Civil Service Tribunal) and Opinions and views of Advocates General Coverage: 1953 - present Manual See also: EUR-Lex
DallozFrance, Law, Books, Commentaries, Journals, Journal articles, Case law, Legislation
A database that contains the following resources on French Law: journals, journal articles, commentaries, legislation and case law. The legal fields included in our subscription are: French civil law, criminal law, administrative law, business law, labour law, real estate and international & European Law. Manual
Information concerning agreements between the European Union and third countries or international organisations, including those in the process of being approved and information concerning Conventions concluded between the Member States of the European Union in certain fields See also: EUR-Lex
This search engine allows you to search for legal decisions/judgments with an assigned ECLI identifier
src="//s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/customers/1170/images/Informatie_BE311A.png" style="width: 26px; height: 25px;" /> For the time being not all EU Member States have introduced the ECLI standard at national level
This encyclopedia contains a wide range of topics of private international law from a comparative perspective taking into account recent developments on the national, European and international level. Furthermore it contains national reports, describing the private international law regimes of the selected countries and a collection of legal instruments of private international law either in the original English language of promulgation, if any, or in English translation.
Text of all Council of Europe treaties, their explanatory reports, the status of signatures and ratifications, the declarations and reservations made by States, as well as the notifications issued by the Treaty Office since 2005 Coverage: 1949 - …
Search for items from the European Commission Library catalogue and through the Library's electronic collections, containing the official publications of the European Union and documentation and publications from international organizations, commercial, academic government publishers
database containing basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties and some bilateral treaties concluded between 1353 and the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the internet Coverage: 1353 - …
Translated decisions from Conseil Constitutionnel, Conseil d'Etat and Cour de Cassation and a collection of commercial law cases (Institute for Transnational Law, School of Law, University of Texas at Austin) See also: Dalloz
Contact information of lawyers, civil-law notaries, mediators, bailiffs, collection agencies, Public Prosecution Services and judiciaries in the Netherlands
Google ScholarAll subjects; journal articles and books. Citation scores
In Google Scholar, you can find references to academic publications in many different disciplines and forms (e.g. journal articles and preprints). A lot of these publications are available freely online.
Citation data of the publication (who cites who in Google Scholar) can be found at 'Cited by'. Manual: Connect Google Scholar to the University Library
GLIN contains titles of publications of governmental and other public institutions, universities and other scientific institutions and theses that have been published in the Netherlands. Coverage: 1982 - present
Website of the Hague Conference on Private International Law, containing links to the text of the Statute, Conventions, Protocols and Principles
HeinOnlineLaw, Books, Journals, Journal articles, Case law, Legislation, Treaties, Bibliographies
HeinOnline includes the following collections:
Law Journal LibraryLaw and law-related periodicals (mainly from American origin). Coverage is from the first issue published and is until the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers.
English ReportsReports of judgments of the English Courts reported between 1220 and 1866.
Foreign & International Law Resources DatabaseProminent yearbooks from around the world, U.S. Law Digests, International tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)Index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide.
Legal ClassicsThousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history.
Revised Statutes of Canada
United Nations Law CollectionExact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications.
Women and the Law (Peggy)Books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law.
World Constitutions IllustratedCurrent constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books and other related works.
World Treaty LibraryA fully searchable treaty database that also includes hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles, and a bibliography of related publications.
A collection of Dutch Parliamentary documents (Proceedings, Parliamentary Papers and Parliamentary questions). Coverage: 1814 - 1994 Manual See also: For Parliamentary documents from 1995 onwards, Overheid.nl or OpMaat can be used.
HUDOCLaw, European Court of Human Rights, Case law
Access to the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments and decisions, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions). Coverage: 1955 - present Manual
Index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide, that cover public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and municipal laws of countries other than the United States, United Kingdom, and the British Islands. The IFLP also analyses the contents of approximately 50 individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mlanges, and congress reports each year. Coverage: 1984 - present Manual
Platform for the mutual exchange of information between the national Parliaments and the European Parliament concerning issues related to the European Union.
The Documents database contains draft legislative proposals, consultation and information documents coming from the European Commission, parliamentary documents and information concerning the European Union
Judgements in the field of labour law and industrial relations accompanied by headnotes and in practically all cases by an annotation which sets forth, among other things, the legal issues involved, the basic facts of the case (if not included in the judgement itself), the relevant statutory provisions and judicial precedents, the labour law and industrial relations context in which the case arose and the significance of the judgement in the development of the law Coverage: 1974 - …
Database created by the European Commission, containing case law on jurisdiction in civil and commercial matters and on the recognition and enforcement of judgments in a State other than the one where the judgment was passed.
The JURE collection contains relevant judgments delivered by courts in contracting states (EU Member States and if applicable Iceland, Norway and Switzerland) and the EU Court of Justice under the following:
Brussels Convention (1968)
Lugano Convention (1988)
Brussels I Regulation (2000)
Brussels II Regulation (2000)
New Brussels II Regulation (2003)
New Lugano Convention (2007)
The judgments are available in their original language only.
There is also a summary of each judgment in English, French and German (and in the original language, if the country in question provides one).
Database of the Court of Justice of the European Union and the Councils of State or the Supreme administrative jurisdictions of each of the members of the European Union (ACA Europe). This database contains the references and the full text:
of the "preliminary files" with:
the preliminary question submitted to the Court of Justice of the European Union
the Court's answer to this question
the national decision(s) following this answer
of other national decisions on the interpretation of European Union law (decisions without reference)
Portal that can be used to search for professional literature and practical information, models, legislation and regulations, commentaries and case law in which various, relevant sources are linked to each other. Note: If you as a student/employee of Radboud University want to create alerts and/or reading lists in Kluwer Navigator via SURFconext, Kluwer Navigator will ask you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as a student/employee. Coverage legislation: May 1992 - present Manual See also: OpMaat Access:Off campus access only with eduVPN.
Description: Legal search engine that allows you to simultaneously search in multiple legal sources (mainly Dutch, but also European law), regardless of which publisher or agency published them. Help: Various website tours are available via the Info button in the red menu in Legal Intelligence. An extensive Help Center can also be accessed via this button. Access:
After logging in via SURFconext when using this database for the very first time, it is recommended in the second screen Aanmelden to click the red button Doorgaan below the form: you are now logged in Anonymously in Legal Intelligence.
To be able to set alerts, personalised registration is required.
In this case, please provide your email address. This can be done by clicking the personalisation button in the top right corner of the screen in Legal Intelligence, then go to Instellingen and enter your email address. You can also choose to enter your name (this is not mandatory).
Note: If you as a student/employee of Radboud University want to create alerts and/or reading lists in Legal Intelligence, Legal Intelligence will ask you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as a student/employee.
Access, in French, to laws and decrees published in the Journal officiel, important court rulings, collective labour agreements, standards issued by European institutions, and international treaties and agreements to which France is a party.
For reference purposes, Legifrance also provides a number of useful links (to parliamentary assemblies, jurisdictions, independent administrative authorities…). See also: Dalloz
A search instrument developed by the Parliament to monitor decision and legislative proceedings. Various search options provide an overview of all documents relating to a particular proceeding.
The website contains records for all procedures still ongoing - irrespective of when they began - and all procedures that have been submitted to the European Parliament since the beginning of the fourth parliamentary term in July 1994.
This encyclopaedia consist of the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law. The two Encyclopedias can be searched and browsed together, or separately by using appropriate filters
NARCIS - National Academic Research and Collaborations Information System
NARCIS is a gateway to (open access) publications from all Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from DANS and 4TU.Datacentrum and descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes. Related database: Radboud Repository
the national case law regarding European Union law
the reference to annotations and comments in books and articles related to national decisions and judgements delivered under the preliminary ruled procedure by the Court of Justice of the European Union concerning those matters
NDFR (Nederlandse Documentatie Fiscaal Recht) is a reference work that provides commentary on Dutch Tax Law (laws, case law and regulations). It also contains journals and books on Dutch Tax Law and provides information about tax history in the Netherlands, to the extent that it is relevant to contemporary practice. Demo See also: Kluwer Navigator, especially the Vakstudie-serie
Dutch laws and regulations with background information and explanations, especially useful for legislation before 1995
Location: Law Library, Montessorilaan 10
Shelf-mark: B.nl.05-10 (Lexplicatie)
Shelf-mark: S & J (Schuurman & Jordens) See also: Kluwer Navigator, OpMaat for current law
Nexis Uni is a database with full text articles derived from Dutch newspapers (national and regional), foreign newspapers and Dutch news magazines. Coverage: circa 1990 - present, daily updates Manual: Help Topics for Nexis Uni
Database containing news, case law (with annotations), articles, interviews and columns compiled by fiscal professionals on Dutch tax law. The database gives access to Dutch tax legislation with related commentaries, parliamentary history, case law and policy decisions.
The weekly NLFiscaal (NLF) contains a compilation of what had been published. The weekly is available as PDF. Help:
Various videos via YouTube Access:
RU staff and students can access NLFiscaal via SURFconext. Anonymous login in NLFiscaal is possible with Radboud account and password only.
Registration is necessary to receive the daily e-mail newsletter. Registration is also required to use the app for reading weekly NLFiscaal and the app with NLFiscaal legislation. Go to the personalisation button in the right corner of the screen. Enter your ru.nl / student.ru.nl email address and set a password directly.
Note: If you as a student/employee of Radboud University want to create alerts and/or reading lists in NLFiscaal, NLFiscaal will ask you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as a student/employee.
Website of the International Labour Organization containing information on International Labour Standards (such as ratification information, reporting requirements, comments of the ILO's supervisory bodies, etc.) as well as national labour and social security laws
Bellamy & Child: European Union Law of Competition.
Faull & Nikpay: The EU Law of Competition.
Whish & Baily: Competition Law.
The commentaries are also enriched with related national case reports and analysis from Member States of the European Union. Furthermore, the most important EU source materials on competition law are integrated. Manual See also: Kluwer Competition Law
The Radboud Repository contains the (open access) academic output of the Radboud University, amongst which are all digitised theses published since the founding of the University in 1923. Introductory video: Radboud Repository in a nutshell Related database: NARCIS
With anonymous access you can consult Rechtsorde and create reading lists. For access to the extra tools 'Dossiers, Alerts and Forum' it is necessary to log in personalized by providing your first name, last name and email address. In principle, the choice is one-time.
Note: If you, as a student/employee of Radboud University, want to create alerts, etc. in Rechtsorde, Rechtsorde asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as a student/employee.
RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'. Tutorial: RUQuest
Information on treaties to which the United States is a party Coverage: Treaties submitted to the Senate since the 94th Congress (1975-1976) (Treaties submitted prior to the 94th Congress are included if they were pending in 1975)
United States Reports is a series of bound case reporters that are the official reports of decisions for the United States Supreme Court dating to the court’s first decision in 1791 and to earlier courts that preceded the Supreme Court in the colonial era. The U.S. Reports digital collection offers access to individual cases published in volumes 1-542 of the bound edition (1754-2009).
In deze databank vindt u het artikelsgewijs commentaar op de Algemene wet bestuursrecht, thematische commentaren, boeken, jurisprudentie, wet- en regelgeving en modellen die zijn gericht op vele onderdelen van het bestuursrecht.
Furthur Legislation in respect of Legal Persons (incl. the Dutch Corporate Governance Code and the European Companies (SE) Implementation Act)
Implementation EC Company Law
The Bankruptcy Act
Private International Law
The Competition Act
Code of Civil Procedure
WestlawAustralia, Canada, European Union, Hong Kong, Korea, United Kingdom, United States, Books, Journals, Journal Articles, News, Case law, Legislation, Treaties
Database with full-text case law, legislation, treaties, law journals, journal articles, books and news concerning the United States, Australia, Canada, the European Union, Korea, Hong Kong and the United Kingdom. Training & support
Westlaw UKUnited Kingdom, European Union, Law, Journals, Journal Articles, News, Case law, Legislation, Parliamentary documents, Treaties, Bibliographies
Westlaw UK contains:
legal encyclopaedia that provides a comprehensive statement of the law in the United Kingdom
legislation of the UK dating back to 1267
abstracts from every substantive legal and financial journal published since 1986
EU material (case law, Treaties primary legislation from 1951, Legislation secondary legislation from 1952, Preparatory Acts from 1974, Parliamentary Questions from 1992, OJC Series from 1990)
The library contains sets of statutes of the parliamentary history relating to statutes or policy memorandums. The collection has been virtually complete from the late 1960s until 1995. Of the older legislation, there are only sets of statutes of major codifications.
This library, available through HeinOnline) enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.