LibGuides: Library Guide Science: Physics & Astronomy

Physics & Astronomy

arXiv This link opens in a new window
ArXiv contains over one million fulltext pre-prints (open access) in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Although arXiv is not peer reviewed, a collection of moderators for each area review the submissions; they may re-categorise any that are deemed off-topic, or reject submissions that are not scientific papers.
Coverage: 1992 - present
Related database: Astrophysics Data System
Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) / NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by SAO under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three databases containing references to publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and fulltext of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable, with key terms or by browsing.
Coverage: 1975 - present
Related database: arXiv
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports

For (e-)books available at the Radboud University:

RUQuest This link opens in a new window
RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window

In this handbook, you can find general information on several specific areas of chemistry and physics. It also contains tables with chemical and physical properties of a variety of compounds. Structure searches and searches on properties such as CAS-number, molecular weight or formula, are also possible as.
Related resources: ACS Reagent Chemicals, PubChem, Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics This link opens in a new window

An extensive reference work on mathematical physics. The encyclopaedia is searchable by subject or article. Browsing is also possible.
Related resources: arXiv, Oxford Dictionary of Physics
Encyclopedia of Modern Optics This link opens in a new window

Subjects covered are: light and optics, lasers, optical fibres, and optical fibre systems, optical materials, LED's and applications in control and manufacturing, data processing and storage, applications in environment, engineering, defence, ocean study, medicine and biology.
Related database: Web of Science
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology This link opens in a new window

An extensive reference work on technology in natural sciences, mathematics and computer science. Subjects covered range from engineering to aeronautica and quantum physics to polymer chemistry.
Related database: Web of Science
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry This link opens in a new window

Encyclopaedia in the field of spectroscopy and spectrometry. Search by key term or browse through the subject index.
Related database: Web of Science
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedia about analytical chemistry. Covers all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques.

Physics

Astronomy

Organisations

A Dictionary of Astronomy by Ian Ridpath
ISBN: 9780199609055
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
A Dictionary of Physics by John Daintith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199233991
Publication Date: 2010-04-01

All mandatory literature for physics and astronomy is available for inspection in the Library of Science. A number of books is also available as an e-book! You can download them from the e-books for physics and astronomy page.