LibGuides: Library Guide Science: Chemistry, MLS & Science

Chemistry, MLS & Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports
Reaxys This link opens in a new window

Reaxys is a web-based, Chemistry database, with references to journals and patents that can be used to search for:
- Chemical reactions.
- Compounds (or parts thereof).
- Physical/chemical properties of compounds.
- Spectra.
- Type of reactions and named reactions.
A synthesis plan can also be created.
Coverage: ~1800 - present
Self-teaching module: Reaxys
Related database: Science of Synthesis
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a freely accessible database and the most consulted database for biomedical research articles. Its content contains Medline, but with a different search interface and search options.
Coverage: 1946 - present, daily updates
Self-teaching module: PubMed Basics, PubMed Advanced
Related databases: Embase, Cochrane Library, Web of Science
Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window

Database with synthesis methods, searchable by structure and/or text. Retrieves articles with a description of the synthesis method: experimental procedure, reaction scheme and synthesis results. It is also possible to browse by specific compound classes or special topics, e.g. cross-coupling or stereoselective synthesis.
Tutorial: Quick Start Guide
Related databases: Reaxys, Web of Science
arXiv This link opens in a new window
ArXiv contains over one million fulltext pre-prints (open access) in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Although arXiv is not peer reviewed, a collection of moderators for each area review the submissions; they may re-categorise any that are deemed off-topic, or reject submissions that are not scientific papers.
Coverage: 1992 - present
Related database: Astrophysics Data System

BioRxiv
more...less...

BioRxiv contains preprints (open access) in the field of life sciences.
MedRxiv
more...less...
Preprint server, so papers are not peer-reviewed yet.

General Chemistry Virtual Textbook This link opens in a new window
A website covering basic chemistry for first-year students. Some advanced topics are also covered. Lessons also contain clear pictures and example exercises. The website is constructed by a (now retired) chemist at the Simon Fraser University, in Canada.
RTECS This link opens in a new window

RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances) is a database with chemical substances and information on their toxic effects. Search by systematic or trivial name, molecular formula, keyword or CAS-number (no structure search).
Related recommendations: PubChem, TOXNET

For articles in newspapers or magazines:

Nexis Uni / National and international newspapers This link opens in a new window All subjects; newspapers, magazines, web news, transcripts of news items on radio and TV

Nexis Uni is a database with full text articles derived from Dutch newspapers (national and regional), foreign newspapers and Dutch news magazines.
Coverage: circa 1990 - present, daily updates
Manual: Help Topics for Nexis Uni

For (e-)books available at the Radboud University:

RUQuest This link opens in a new window
RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

Chemische Feitelijkheden This link opens in a new window

Chemische Feitelijkheden is a current encyclopaedia of molecules, people, materials and the environment. Ten times a year, a new issue is published, describing a new subject. An issue covers context, basic knowledge and in-depth information on the subject.
Issues are downloadable, so accessible both on- and offline. Printed versions of the current year are available for inspection at the Library of Science.
Coverage: 1991 - present
Related resources: Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, Reaxys
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window

In this handbook, you can find general information on several specific areas of chemistry and physics. It also contains tables with chemical and physical properties of a variety of compounds. Structure searches and searches on properties such as CAS-number, molecular weight or formula, are also possible as.
Related resources: ACS Reagent Chemicals, PubChem, Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window

eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) is a monthly-updated reference work containing over 5,000 peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. eLS articles provide information, also for the non-specialist, on biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data.
Related resource: Encyclopedia of Life
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry This link opens in a new window

Encyclopaedia in the field of spectroscopy and spectrometry. Search by key term or browse through the subject index.
Related database: Web of Science
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology This link opens in a new window
In this encyclopaedia you can find peer-reviewed information, that focuses, in particular, on the fundamental science of biological structures and systems, the use of chemical and biological techniques to elucidate that science, and the applications of this knowledge in areas, such as drug discovery, sensor technology and catalysis.
Major topics covered include:
- Bio molecules within the cell.
- Chemistry of biological processes and systems.
- Chemical Biology of cellular compartments.
- Synthetic molecules as tools for Chemical Biology.
- Technologies and techniques in Chemical Biology.
- Applications of Chemical Biology.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedia about analytical chemistry. Covers all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques.

Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry by John Daintith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199204632
Publication Date: 2008-04-15

All mandatory literature for chemistry, MLS and science is available for inspection in the Library of Science. A number of books is also available as an e-book! You can download them from the e-books for chemistry page.