Library Guide Medical Sciences: Resources

The Cochrane Library has a strong focus on clinical research. It contains high quality, full text, systematic reviews, controlled trials (CENTRAL) and health technology assessments (HTA).
Coverage: 1992 - present (Cochrane reviews) / 1946 - present (CENTRAL), monthly updates
Recommended related databases: PubMed / MEDLINE, Embase

Embase is one of the largest databases for biomedical research articles. It is especially useful to find literature on drugs, chemicals and medical devices. Medline records from 2010 onwards are included.
Coverage: 1974 - present, daily updates (conference abstracts indexed from 2009 present)
Self-teaching module: Embase LibGuide
Recommended related databases: PubMed / MEDLINE, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

MEDLINE is a biomedical database with a content that is nearly identical to PubMed. It is a licensed database with a different search interface and more sophisticated search options, such as proximity searching.
Coverage: 1946 - present, daily updates
Recommended related databases: Embase, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

PubMed is a freely accessible database and the most consulted database for biomedical research articles. Its content contains Medline, but with a different search interface and search options.
Coverage: 1946 - present, daily updates
Self-teaching module: PubMed Basics, PubMed Advanced
Related databases: Embase, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports

CINAHL is the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It focuses on nursing and allied health topics: e.g. occupational therapy, physiotherapy, rehabilitation therapy, speech therapy
Coverage: 1982 - present, weekly updates
Recommended related databases: PubMed, NAZ (nursing, in Dutch), PEDro (physiotherapy)

Invert is a database with Dutch journal articles (from Belgium and the Netherlands) from important Dutch nursing journals and communications from nursing associations.
Coverage: 1993 - present
Recommended related database: NAZ (in Dutch), CINAHL

NAZ is a database with Dutch journal articles and focuses on medicine, health care and nursing. The references are derived from 150 Dutch journals.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Recommended related databases: Invert (in Dutch), CINAHL

PEDro is a freely accessible database focused on physiotherapy. It contains trials, systematic reviews and guidelines. All trials are assessed for quality by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health in Australia.
Recommended related databases: PubMed / Medline, CINAHL, Cochrane Library

Contains DSM-5 (2013) and DSM-5-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Text Revision (2022), produced by the American Psychiatric Association (APA).

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) contains references to journal articles, reports (ED-numbers) and books in the field of education.
Coverage: 1965 - present, monthly updates

A comprehensive database with international coverage of the professional and academic peer reviewed literature in the field of psychology, and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as Medicine, Psychiatry, Nursing, Sociology, Education, Pharmacology, Physiology, Linguistics, Communication, and Anthropology.
The database includes references and abstracts from:
- more than 2,000 journals
- dissertations in more than 30 languages
- book chapters and books in the English language
Coverage: 1806 - present, weekly updates
Self-teaching module: PsycINFO Basics
Related databases: PubMed, Web of Science

PTSDpubs is a database with citations of literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
Coverage: 1871 - present, monthly updates
Related databases: PsycINFO, PubMed

A comprehensive database with references and abstracts to international, academic peer reviewed journal articles from over a thousand core serials, conference papers, book reviews and American dissertations in the field of sociology, and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences, such as Anthropology, Psychology, Education, and Communication. Cited references have been included since 2002.
Coverage: 1952 - present, monthly updates
Related databases: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Web of Science

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation presents an A to Z listing of drugs (generic name) that can be used by pregnant and lactating women. It includes information on known and/or possible effects of the drug on the fetus and the known/possible passage of the drug into human breast milk.

Farmacotherapeutisch Kompas (FTK) contains all drugs that are available in The Netherlands and are registered as appropriate for clinical use in humans by the Dutch College ter Beoordeling van Geneesmiddelen (CBG) or the European Medicines Agency (EMA) and are listed in the G-Standaard database (maintained by Z-index). FTK is published by Zorginstituut Nederland.

RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances) is a database with chemical substances and information on their toxic effects. Search by systematic or trivial name, molecular formula, keyword or CAS-number (no structure search).
Related recommendations: PubChem, TOXNET

In Google Scholar, you can find references to academic publications in many different disciplines and forms (e.g. journal articles and preprints). A lot of these publications are available freely online.
Citation data of the publication (who cites who in Google Scholar) can be found at 'Cited by'.
Manual: Connect Google Scholar to the University Library

This portal with research information from Dutch institutions was initiated by the UKB and SURF as a successor to NARCIS.
Related database: Radboud Repository

Comprehensive multidisciplinary collection of references and abstracts of dissertations and theses from around the world, mainly from the United States. A preview of the first 24 pages of each publication is available for most.
Coverage: 1637 - present

RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

Cochrane Clinical Answers is a resource for evidence-based clinical decision support. It contains current, practical and reliable information on interventions of diseases. The answers to the clinical questions are based on Cochrane systematic reviews.
Related recommendations: UpToDate, Cochrane Library

Klinische diagnostiek is a Dutch reference work on the diagnosis of diseases. It contains information on e.g. differential diagnoses and relevant clinical (laboratory) tests. Search by disease, chemical substance, ICPC-2 or ICD-10 code.

NHG standaarden is a public resource for current clinical guidelines of Primary Care in the Netherlands (in Dutch) published by the Dutch College of General Practitioners.
Related recommendations: National Guideline Clearinghouse (US), Richtlijnendatabase Federatie Medisch Specialisten (in Dutch)

The database Trip is focused on clinical research. Besides clinical studies, systematic reviews and guidelines, TRIP also contains information such as images, videos and patient information leaflets.
Recommended related databases: PubMed, Cochrane Library

UpToDate is a resource for evidence-based clinical decision support. It contains current, practical and reliable information on diagnoses and treatments. These expert reviews contain extensive reference lists from selected medical journals.
Related recommendations: Cochrane Library, OMMBID, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

The Van Dale online dictionaries contain:

• Van Dale Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal - de Dikke Van Dale
  
• Van Dale Groot woordenboek Hedendaags Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Dutch-English / English-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-German / German-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-French / French-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Spanish / Spanish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Italian / Italian-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Portugese / Portugese-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Swedish / Swedish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Engels
  
• Synoniemen
  
• Spellinghulp
  
• Juridisch (Fockema Andreae's Juridisch woordenboek)

Quantitative figures on journals in the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index are published relating to citations from articles in these journals. The best-known quantitative figure is the impact factor, which can be seen as a measure for the average number of citations received for journal articles.
Self-teaching: Training videos
Related database: Web of Science

Current Protocols in Cell Biology is a reference work with commonly used methods for analysing the location, function and structure of molecules, genes and cells.
Related recommendations: Current Protocols in Molecular Biology, Nature Protocols

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology is a reference work with methods for analysing DNA, RNA and proteins. Methods range from PCR to mass spectrometry.
Related recommendations: Current Protocols in Cell Biology, Nature Protocols

Current Protocols in Neuroscience is a reference work with methods and preclinical models validated for the neurosciences.
Related recommendations: Current Protocols in Molecular Biology, Encyclopedia of Neuroscience, Nature Protocols

Current Protocols in Protein Science is a reference work with methods for analysing proteins. Methods range from protein purification to mass spectrometry.
Related recommendations: Current Protocols in Molecular Biology, Nature Protocols

Nexis Uni is a database with full text articles derived from Dutch newspapers (national and regional), foreign newspapers and Dutch news magazines.
Coverage: circa 1990 - present, daily updates
Manual: Help Topics for Nexis Uni

EU statistics from the official EU directorate general. Find statistics organised by various themes and important EU policy indicators on population, immigration, (un)employment, tourism, sustainable development etc. Researchers can get access to the underlying microdata, contact the NSM library team for more information on the application process.

The databank from the Central Bureau of Statistics (CBS) contains statistical information about the Netherlands. It is possible to compile, print and download your own tables and graphs from this resource.
Related: Eurostat

Acland's is a series of anatomy lessons presented by Dr. Robert Acland. Anatomical structures are illustrated through the use of un-embalmed human specimens. Also offers online exams for self-testing (a personal account is required no additional charge).
Related recommendation: Sobotta - Atlas of Human Anatomy

AMA Manual of Style is a manual for writing style and document formatting (incl. reference style) of academic publications. It consists of the guidelines of the American Medical Association and is written by the editors of JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) and JAMA specialty journals.

Encyclopedia of Health and Aging is a reference work with a focus on the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging, and the impacts within the health-care system. it also provides information on aging-associated diseases and geriatric syndromes.

eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) is a monthly-updated reference work containing over 5,000 peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. eLS articles provide information, also for the non-specialist, on biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data.
Related resource: Encyclopedia of Life

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience is a reference work with literature reviews on molecules, diseases, mechanisms, concepts in Neuroscience.
Related recommendation: Current Protocols in Neuroscience

Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery is a reference work with a focus on behavioural addictions and current practices in the prevention and treatment of substance abuse.

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine (20th edition) is an American textbook of internal medicine. The text is supplemented by photographs, radiographs, illustrations, atlases, patient-care algorithms, tables, and practical demonstrative videos.

OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man is a database on hereditary diseases and their underlying metabolic and molecular mechanisms.
Related recommendations: OMMBID, UpToDate