Library Guide Medical Sciences: Home

CINAHL is the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It focuses on nursing and allied health topics: e.g. occupational therapy, physiotherapy, rehabilitation therapy, speech therapy
Coverage: 1982 - present, weekly updates
Recommended related databases: PubMed, NAZ (nursing, in Dutch), PEDro (physiotherapy)

The Cochrane Library has a strong focus on clinical research. It contains high quality, full text, systematic reviews, controlled trials (CENTRAL) and health technology assessments (HTA).
Coverage: 1992 - present (Cochrane reviews) / 1946 - present (CENTRAL), monthly updates
Recommended related databases: PubMed / MEDLINE, Embase

Embase is one of the largest databases for biomedical research articles. It is especially useful to find literature on drugs, chemicals and medical devices. Medline records from 2010 onwards are included.
Coverage: 1974 - present, daily updates (conference abstracts indexed from 2009 present)
Self-teaching module: Embase LibGuide
Recommended related databases: PubMed / MEDLINE, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

Quantitative figures on journals in the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index are published relating to citations from articles in these journals. The best-known quantitative figure is the impact factor, which can be seen as a measure for the average number of citations received for journal articles.
Self-teaching: Training videos
Related database: Web of Science

MEDLINE is a biomedical database with a content that is nearly identical to PubMed. It is a licensed database with a different search interface and more sophisticated search options, such as proximity searching.
Coverage: 1946 - present, daily updates
Recommended related databases: Embase, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

A comprehensive database with international coverage of the professional and academic peer reviewed literature in the field of psychology, and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as Medicine, Psychiatry, Nursing, Sociology, Education, Pharmacology, Physiology, Linguistics, Communication, and Anthropology.
The database includes references and abstracts from:
- more than 2,000 journals
- dissertations in more than 30 languages
- book chapters and books in the English language
Coverage: 1806 - present, weekly updates
Self-teaching module: PsycINFO Basics
Related databases: PubMed, Web of Science

PubMed is a freely accessible database and the most consulted database for biomedical research articles. Its content contains Medline, but with a different search interface and search options.
Coverage: 1946 - present, daily updates
Self-teaching module: PubMed Basics, PubMed Advanced
Related databases: Embase, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

UpToDate is a resource for evidence-based clinical decision support. It contains current, practical and reliable information on diagnoses and treatments. These expert reviews contain extensive reference lists from selected medical journals.
Related recommendations: Cochrane Library, OMMBID, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports

Acland's is a series of anatomy lessons presented by Dr. Robert Acland. Anatomical structures are illustrated through the use of un-embalmed human specimens. Also offers online exams for self-testing (a personal account is required no additional charge).
Related recommendation: Sobotta - Atlas of Human Anatomy

Current Protocols in Cell Biology is a reference work with commonly used methods for analysing the location, function and structure of molecules, genes and cells.
Related recommendations: Current Protocols in Molecular Biology, Nature Protocols

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology is a reference work with methods for analysing DNA, RNA and proteins. Methods range from PCR to mass spectrometry.
Related recommendations: Current Protocols in Cell Biology, Nature Protocols

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation presents an A to Z listing of drugs (generic name) that can be used by pregnant and lactating women. It includes information on known and/or possible effects of the drug on the fetus and the known/possible passage of the drug into human breast milk.

eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) is a monthly-updated reference work containing over 5,000 peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. eLS articles provide information, also for the non-specialist, on biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data.
Related resource: Encyclopedia of Life

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine (20th edition) is an American textbook of internal medicine. The text is supplemented by photographs, radiographs, illustrations, atlases, patient-care algorithms, tables, and practical demonstrative videos.