LibGuides: Library Guide Medical Sciences: Borrowing

Borrowing books

Library card
Students and employees of the Radboud University (s- and u-number) can borrow books with their campus card. Employees of the Radboudumc (z-number) can use their Radboudumc staff pass. If you have a UMC-employee card without a barcode, you will need a replacement (Employee plaza, route 674).
Loan period
The loan period is 28 days. Borrowed books will be renewed automatically up to 10 times, unless the book has been reserved by another user.
My loans (via RUQuest)
View your loans online in RUQuest (Top right corner > Sign in).

Find and request books

The collection of the University Library (including the Medical Library) can be searched via:

RUQuest This link opens in a new window
RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

The collection of the Medical Library is largely available online. Our print collection is located at different locations:

Medical Library:
Here you can find print copies of the core textbooks advised for students medicine and biomedical sciences. The books are only available for consultation in the Medical Library. It is not possible to borrow these books for home use.
Closed Stacks:
Publications in the closed stacks can be requested in RUQuest with the button 'Request item'.
Please note! Journal articles are only available for consultation.

Requests from the closed stacks

You will receive an e-mail when a requested publication is ready for pick-up. Requests from the closed stacks of the Medical Library are processed thrice a week.

Publications from the closed stacks will remain available for 7 days at the service desk of the Medical Library.

Interlibrary loan (ILL)

When a book or journal article is not available in the Radboud University Library, it is possible to request the item from another library using interlibrary loan (ILL). Additional fees may be charged for this service.

You can request the item yourself via RUQuest with the button 'Request item other libraries' or contact us via Ask Your Librarian for assistance.

ILL
Information on requesting items from another library and rates.

Systematic review

When you are planning to request a large number of articles for a (systematic) review, the Medical Library can place these requests for you. Please contact us at medischebibliotheek@radboudumc.nl.

For article requests please include:

Author, article title, journal title, year, volume, issue, start- and endpage
Please sort alphabetically on journal title
Your name, department and cost-heading of the department

The PDF's will be sent to your email and the costs will be billed through to your department.