In Advanced Search you can fill in your search terms in the searchbar and select the data field. Standard it is set on All Metadata, but you can select other fields as shown in this screenshot:
In the example below you search in the field All Metadata, on "smart grid*" OR "Power grid*" OR "utility grid*" AND "choice architecture*" OR "variation in architecture*" in All Metadata. You can also select a Date Added to IEEE Xplore selecteren or a Publication Year:
Command Search allows you to conduct a search using Data Fields and Operators (see Summary Data Fields). This gives you more search fields and more control over the order of the search results.
You can use a maximum of 25 search terms. For more command search examples, click on the question mark behind ‘See Expression Examples’.
| Field Name | Definition |
|---|---|
| Abstract | Brief summary or statement of the contents of a journal article, conference paper, standard, book, book chapter, or course. |
| Accession Number | Sequential number assigned to each record or volume as it is added to the database. |
| Article Number | Unique record number assigned to an article. For example in the following URL, the article number is 5487489: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/freeabs_all.jsp?arnumber=5487489 |
| Article Page Number | Paginated position of a journal article in a journal offering, e.g., the page number in a journal issue. |
| Author Affiliation | Institutional affiliation of authors listed in documents (university, government agency, corporation, etc.). |
| Author Keywords | Terms provided by the author which describe the topics or subjects of the document. |
| Author ORCID | ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is a nonprofit organization helping to uniquely identify researchers and authors to stay connected to their contributions and affiliations. |
| Authors | Name of the author or authors listed in the document. |
| Document Title | Title of an individual document (journal article, conference paper, standard, book chapter, or course). |
| DOI | Digital Object Identifier. A unique character string to identify an individual object such as a journal article or conference paper. |
| Full Text & Metadata | Full Text refers to the text of a paper, article, standard, etc. Metadata is the detailed information that describes the full text, like author names, publish date, and DOI. |
| Funding Agency | Name or ID of organization that provided funding or grant for scientific research. For instance, 10.13039/100000001 or National Science Foundation (NSF) |
| IEEE Terms | Keywords assigned to IEEE journal articles and conference papers from a controlled vocabulary created by the IEEE. |
| Index Terms | Combined field which allows users to search the Author Keywords, IEEE Terms, and Mesh Terms. |
| ISBN | International Standard Book Number. A number used to uniquely identify a book or non-serial. |
| ISSN | International Standard Serial Number. An 8-digit number used to uniquely identify a periodical publication (journal or serial). |
| Issue | Number of the journal issue in which the article was published. |
| Metadata | Includes the abstract, index terms, and bibliographic citation data (such as document title, publication title, author, etc.). |
| MeSH Terms | Medical Subject Headings defined by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). MeSH terms are integrated into IEEE Xplore for 14 IEEE biomedical-related titles. |
| Publication Number | Unique record number assigned to a publication. For example in the following URL which links to the publication home page for IEEE Security & Privacy, the publication number is 8013: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/RecentIssue.jsp?punumber=8013 |
| Publisher | Publishing organizations that have content in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. |
| Publication Title | Title of a publication (journal, conference, or book). |
| Standard Number | Standard designation (e.g., IEEE 802.11u-2011). Standard designations are allocated by the Administrator of the IEEE-SA Standards Board New Standards Committee (NesCom). |
| Standard Dictionary Terms | Terms included in the glossary of a standard and the IEEE Standards Dictionary. |
| Standards ICS Terms | The ICS (International Classification for Standards) taxonomy of terms. |
In Citation Search enter the details of a publication you know and click on Search. You do not have to complete all the fields, but the more you know, the sooner you will find the article. One example is given below:
