It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guide Geography, Planning & Environment: by subject
Find information about (scholarly) information resources in the fields of Geography, Planning & Environment
4TU.ResearchData provides an archive for long-term access and curation of research datasets, with a focus on data from science, engineering and technology. The archive went live in 2010 and since then has been managed as a service for researchers (from universities around the world) to deposit and share their data, and for other researchers to download and use data in their research.
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) gives you access to open data published by EU institutions and bodies. All the data you can find via this catalogue are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes. Self-teaching: Discover the EU Open Data portal
EU statistics from the official EU directorate general. Find statistics organised by various themes and important EU policy indicators on population, immigration, (un)employment, tourism, sustainable development etc. Researchers can get access to the underlying microdata, contact the NSM library team for more information on the application process.
Datasets in environmental and social sciences, as well as data from other disciplines including government data and data provided by news organizations.
Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page.
Find predefined data reports, build your own queries across or within certain IMF datasets.The global financial stability and fiscal monitor indicators are frequently cited in academic research. Self-teaching: Tutorial videos
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Find publications, e.g. reports, papers and statistics organised both thematically and by country. Self-teaching: Tutorial videos
Statline CBSData collected by the Central Bureau of Statistics
The databank from the Central Bureau of Statistics (CBS) contains statistical information about the Netherlands. It is possible to compile, print and download your own tables and graphs from this resource. Related: Eurostat
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
Reliable and tested macroeconomic data. Statistics and indicators are available with regard to a wide range of themes such as education, health and nutrition, and poverty and equity.
The data is especially relevant for making comparisons of countries or regions. Time-series data per country is also available. You can go directly to the various indicators as well.
The European environment information and observation network (Eionet) is a partnership network of the EEA and its member and cooperating countries. Through Eionet, the EEA brings together environmental information from individual countries concentrating on the delivery of timely, nationally validated, high-quality data.
Its online database holds national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP
UNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources. The themes and indicator tables were selected based on the current demands for international environmental statistics and the availability of internationally comparable data. Indicator tables, charts and maps with relatively good quality and coverage across countries, as well as links to other international sources, are provided under each theme.
Natural and man-made environmental resources – fresh water, clean air, forests, grasslands, marine resources, and agro-ecosystems – provide sustenance and a foundation for social and economic development. Data here cover forests, biodiversity, emissions, and pollution. Other indicators relevant to the environment are found under data pages for Agriculture & Rural Development, Energy & Mining, Infrastructure, and Urban Development.
ECOI offers information on the political situation and living conditions, for countries of origin of asylum applicants in Europe. ECOI is managed by a department of the Austrian Red Cross, the Austrian Centre for Country of Origin and Asylum Research and Documentation (ACCORD). The database mainly contains reports, news and maps, with a focus on countries of origin. By providing this information ACCORD aims to promote 'fair and efficient refugee status determination procedures'.