LibGuides: Library Guide Business Administration & Economics: Home

Find Literature

Our recommendations

The NSM Library Team offers workshops (free of charge) for students and staff of the Radboud University.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business; economics; journal articles; company information

Find journal articles in scholarly and business journals. The database also includes case studies, working papers, country economic reports and extensive company information such as SWOT analyses.
Self-teaching: Tutorial videos

EconLit
Economics; bibliography; links to books & journals
more...less...
The Bibliographic database of the American Economic Association. You can find scholarly literature in all fields of economics. E.g. macroeconomics, public finance, public economics, state and local government etc. Publications are classified by an international standard developed by the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL).
Coverage: Content dates back to 1883 and covers 73 countries
Self-education: Advanced Searching Tutorial, JEL Subject Classification

Research Starters - Business This link opens in a new window
Reference book; business topics

Find articles providing a brief overview on various business topics, providing insight in the implication for businesses or doing business. Articles usually include a description of various viewpoints, a glossary of terms and concepts, a bibliography and a suggested reading list. Written by experts in the fields of business, law, political science, psychology and economics.
RUQuest This link opens in a new window
All subjects; journals, books, journal articles

RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
All subjects; journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters, preprints, dissertations and datasets

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports

Searching for journals in Browzine
With BrowZine you can read e-journals from 2005 onward, to which the library subscribes, on your pc, tablet and smartphone.
more...less...
BrowZine offers an overview of journals (Sort A-Z) and a Journal Rank for Business, Economics and Marketing and Sales. The ranking is based on the Scimago Journal Rank.

TOP databases & journals Business Administration
Most consulted databases and journals for Business Administration
TOP databases & journals Economics
Most consulted databases and journals for Economics

Find Data

Our recommendations

The NSM Library Team offers data workshops (free of charge) for students and staff of the Radboud University.

BoardEx (via WRDS)
Company specific, board & director data, company networks, board diversity
more...less...
Access via WRDS
BoardEx provides company board details for major listed companies in Europe and the United Kingdom and includes data on directors, senior management and non-disclosed earners. Use the BoardEx data e.g. to analyse board interlocks, board composition, compensation and networks. The following datasets are available: company details, director profiles, compensation, director networks, company networks, and announcements.
Coverage: 1997 – present
Access: is accessible via WRDS, for which you need an account (both staff and students). To get one, register at Register for WRDS. All students can register as 'Masters/Undergrads'. This account is personal and may not be shared with others. Only RU staff and students are permitted to use WRDS. Use your Radboud e-mail address. For more information contact the NSM datasupport (datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl).
Self-teaching:
2021_03 Board & CSR/ESG data - support session
Introduction to Boardex
Data Dictionary
Compustat Global and North America (via WRDS)
Company specific; financials & accounting; market data
more...less...
Compustat consists of company financials and market data of more than 47,000 active and 37,000 inactive companies in the US & Canada and other countries worldwide. The data goes back to approximately 1950 for N-America and back to 1987 for Global.
Compustat is accessible via WRDS, for which you need an account (both staff and students). To get one, register at Register for WRDS. All students can register as 'Masters/Undergrads'. This account is personal and may not be shared with others. Only RU staff and students are permitted to use WRDS. Use your Radboud e-mail address.
If you need support you may use the options on WRDS yourself (e.g. Support - Manuals and Overviews), or contact us at datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl (also for questions about accounts).
Self-teaching:
2021_02 Financials & equities support session

Terms of Use (WRDS)
LSEG Workspace (Datastream)
Company; financials & accounting; equity; indices; CSR/ESG; M&A (deals); macro-economics
more...less...
Comprehensive database that combines economic, financial and business information from many sources worldwide, including LSEG Workspace and Datastream. Create your own dataset of e.g. equity, stock markets, bonds, options, commodities, CSR/ESG, and macroeconomic variables. The Datastream Excel add-in enables you to search the database directly and generate historical time-series.
Use the LSEG Workspace desktop to access company profiles of (mainly) listed companies worldwide, as well as news, broker estimates etc.
Request an account by sending an e-mail to datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl using your Radboud email address. A limited number of accounts is available. In consultation with the data team, accounts are assigned for a limited time period. Consult for more information about availability and access the Refinitiv Workspace webpage.
Coverage : 1950 – present; daily updates
Self-teaching:
See the pdfs at the bottom of the
Workshops and presentations (pdf)
Refinitiv Workspace training (video)
Orbis
Company specific; financials & accounting; ownership structure; M&A
more...less...
The Orbis database contains financial and business information on about 275 million companies worldwide, based on annual reports. Use Orbis especially to gather data on private (non listed) companies and ownership structure. The web-based interface enables you to build a customized dataset and filter on specific variables, or to compile a detailed report on an individual company. Some basic charting, analyzing and reporting tools are available, and the datasets can be exported to Excel. Orbis also provides company board and compensation details, information on M&A (more in Zephyr), business news and rumours.
Coverage: the last 10 years; daily updates.
Self-teaching: See the Help menu and Learning zone (top middle and top right) within Orbis.
2023_02 Support session getting started with Orbis
Orbis M&A
Global M&A deals and rumors with integrated company financials
more...less...
Orbis M&A is the ultimate solution for searching and analyzing intelligence on global mergers and acquisitions. It contains M&A, IPO, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors.
World Bank - Databank
Macroeconomic data; World Development Indicators (WDI); time series
more...less...
Reliable and tested macroeconomic data. Statistics and indicators are available with regard to a wide range of themes such as education, health and nutrition, and poverty. The data is especially relevant for making comparisons of countries or regions. Time-series data per country is also available. You can go directly to the various indicators as well. Please note, a wide range of Worldbank data is also included in Refinitiv Eorkspace.

More data(bases)

NSM Library Team

Elinor Ostrom building Rooms 01.545 & 01.570

(+31) 024-3615950

infofm@ubn.ru.nl

Ask Your Librarian