Library Guide Business Administration & Economics:  Data & statistics by name

Includes constituents of AEX, AMX, ASCX, DJIA30, FTSE 100 and 250, NASDAQ 100

Use Bank Focus (Orbis) to find company specific information on financial institutions worldwide, including financials, corporate structure, ownership and ratings, as well as country reports. Although a considerable part of this data is available through Orbis, the Bank Focus interface is custom-made for the research on financial institutions. Bank Focus covers fulls details on more than 60,000 institutions across the globe, most notably from N-America
Coverage: 1990 - present; daily updates

Access via WRDS
BoardEx provides company board details for major listed companies in Europe and the United Kingdom and includes data on directors, senior management and non-disclosed earners. Use the BoardEx data e.g. to analyse board interlocks, board composition, compensation and networks. The following datasets are available: company details, director profiles, compensation, director networks, company networks, and announcements.
Coverage: 1997 – present
Access: is accessible via WRDS, for which you need an account (both staff and students). To get one, register at Register for WRDS. All students can register as 'Masters/Undergrads'. This account is personal and may not be shared with others. Only RU staff and students are permitted to use WRDS. Use your Radboud e-mail address. For more information contact the NSM datasupport (datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl).
Self-teaching:
Support session Board & CSR-ESG data with BoardEx and LSEG, 2024
Introduction to Boardex
Data Dictionary

---

Compustat consists of company financials and market data of more than 47,000 active and 37,000 inactive companies in the US & Canada and other countries worldwide. The data goes back to approximately 1950 for N-America and back to 1987 for Global.
Compustat is accessible via WRDS, for which you need an account (both staff and students). To get one, register at Register for WRDS. All students can register as 'Masters/Undergrads'. This account is personal and may not be shared with others. Only RU staff and students are permitted to use WRDS. Use your Radboud e-mail address.
If you need support you may use the options on WRDS yourself (e.g. Support - Manuals and Overviews), or contact us at datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl (also for questions about accounts).
Self-teaching:
Support session Financials & Equities in Compustat & LSEG, 2024

Terms of Use (WRDS)

Crunchbase provides information and data on startups, investment and funding information, mergers & acquisitions, company profiles and background information, news, and market and industry trends for public and private companies worldwide. Traditionally, its main focus is on the tech sector and innovation, but other industries are covered as well. A basic version of Crunchbase is available for free via its website. In order to access Crunchbase Pro and the underlying data, please contact the data librarians of the NSM Library Team (infofm@ubn.ru.nl).

Collection of historical crypto prices, by exchange. Free download in .csv format.

Data.gov federates 200,000+ datasets from hundreds of sources, including federal government, cities, counties, states, and universities.

This portal provides an overview of all available datasets provided by government organisations in the Netherlands. Over 150 Dutch government organisations list their available data in over 12.000 datasets. The data portal is updated daily by harvesting-processes, API-updates and individual users.
Information in English

The World Bank’s Enterprise Analysis Unit 1) conducts Enterprise Surveys and 2) draws upon this wealth of firm-level data from developing countries to produce research on the micro-economic foundations of growth. Key research topics of the unit include firm performance and job creation, legal gender parity for entrepreneurs and workers, informality, and export performance. Coverage: 2002 until now.

The EUI Library Data Portal provides access to Library-licensed macroeconomic, micro-socioeconomic and Europe-related databases. 72 data resource guides provide information on coverage, variables, user networks, online manuals and terms and conditions of use.

The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) gives you access to open data published by EU institutions and bodies. All the data you can find via this catalogue are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
Self-teaching: Discover the EU Open Data portal

The survey measures the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of diverse populations in more than thirty nations. There are eight (8) rounds of surveys from 2002 to 2016.
For each round, the ESS makes available several data sets: an integrated file including data from all countries participating in that round, interviewer’s questionnaire data, test variables data, contact forms data, media claims data.
Registration needed for downloading data.

The European Values Study is a large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on basic human values. It provides insights into the ideas, beliefs, preferences, attitudes, values, and opinions of citizens all over Europe. It is a unique research project on how Europeans think about life, family, work, religion, politics, and society.
Registration is needed for downloading data. Data from 1981 until now.

Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

The website of prof. Ken French (famous for the Fama and French model) provides aggregated data on the Fama & French factors, portfolio's based on different indicators, and much more. The data is available in aggregated form; on the firm, industry and index level.
This data is also available in WRDS (Fama-French Portfolios and Factors)
Coverage: 1920s – present (updated periodically)
Region: mainly US

The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is responsible for advising the Bank president on matters of economic policy. The Division monitors the economic and financial literature and produces research in the areas of money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics. This site offers economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.

The Global Data Lab develops instruments for monitoring and analyzing the status and progress of societies. Instruments include indicators, specialized databases, and web-based tools. Managed by dr. Jeroen Smits

GRI provides a framework for sustainability reporting for companies worldwide. This enables third parties to assess environmental impact from the firms' activities. Search for firms, their sustainability report and GRI reports in the sustainability disclosure database. It is no longer possible to request bulk downloads from the GRI database. A full GRI dataset for the period 2000-2017 is available on request with the NSM datateam (datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl). More recent data has to be hand-picked from the GRI database.

The VSM, Values Survey Module, is a set of questions with which researchers doing cross-cultural studies can compare. Geert Hofstede, assisted by others, came up with six basic issues that society needs to come to term with in order to organize itself. These are called dimensions of culture: individualism; power distance; masculinity; uncertainty avoidance; long-term orientation; indulgence

The IMF's dataset covers all economies that have reported fiscal data to the IMF's Government Financial Statistics Database for at least one subnational government level. It contains International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment, Direction of Trade, World Economic Outlook, IMF members financial data, commodity prices, international reserves, and investment surveys.
Registration needed for downloading data.
IMF Data Overview Matrix - which information in which sources?
IMF available datasets (alphabetically)

The "Institutional Profiles Database" (IPD) provides an original measure of countries' institutional characteristics through composite indicators built from perception data. It covers 144 countries and contains 127 indicators, derived from 320 variables describing a broad range of institutional characteristics.

Our library team has the full data available from 2011 onward. If you want access to it, please email us at datasupport-nsm@ubn.ru.nl.

In Nexis Uni, you will find the full electronic articles of several Dutch and international newspapers. Dutch newspapers are a.i. available: De Volkskrant, Het Parool, De Telegraaf, Trouw, Algemeen Dagblad en NRC Handelsblad. Also available are a number of local newspapers, trade magazines (Boerderij, Bouwwereld, Psychologie Magazine and Zorgvisie), opinion magazines (Elsevier, De Groene Amsterdammer, Vrij Nederland, Quote and Opzij), and financial magazines (Beleggers Belangen, Dow Jones Nieuwsdienst, FEM Business).
International newspapers include: Le Figaro; Financial Times; Neue Züricher Zeitung; Observer; El Pais; Der Spiegel
Under ‘By Source Type', select the required sources to search Dutch or international newspapers.
The database is updated daily. It does not include the full text of all articles. These are usually articles by freelancers, for which the publisher does not have publication rights. For these articles, the title, author and publication dates are given. Advertisements, cartoons, weather reports, share prices, radio and television information are not included.

---

Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Find statistics organised both thematically and by country.
The University Library provides access to the 'Books', 'Papers' and the 'Statistics'. The RU-subscription does not include the IEA Statistics (International Energy Agency).
Self-teaching:
Getting started
Tutorials

---

The Orbis database contains financial and business information on about 275 million companies worldwide, based on annual reports. Use Orbis especially to gather data on private (non listed) companies and ownership structure. The web-based interface enables you to build a customized dataset and filter on specific variables, or to compile a detailed report on an individual company. Some basic charting, analyzing and reporting tools are available, and the datasets can be exported to Excel. Orbis also provides company board and compensation details, information on M&A (more in Zephyr), business news and rumours.
Coverage: the last 10 years; daily updates.
Self-teaching: See the Help menu and Learning zone (top middle and top right) within Orbis.

2023_02 Support session getting started with Orbis

---

Orbis IP is used for combining company information with (global) patent data, such as publication information, ownership, industry and patent classifications, oppositions, and patent value.
Data on M&A deals (more in Zephyr) and corporate structures is included in Orbis IP as well.
Coverage: patents from 1782 - present
Self-teaching: See the Learning zone (top middle and top right) within Orbis IP.

Orbis M&A is the ultimate solution for searching and analyzing intelligence on global mergers and acquisitions. It contains M&A, IPO, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors.

PWT version 9.0 is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 182 countries between 1950 and 2014.

Comprehensive database that combines economic, financial and business information from many sources worldwide, including LSEG Workspace and Datastream. Create your own dataset of e.g. equity, stock markets, bonds, options, commodities, CSR/ESG, and macroeconomic variables. The Datastream Excel add-in enables you to search the database directly and generate historical time-series.
Use the LSEG Workspace desktop to access company profiles of (mainly) listed companies worldwide, as well as news, broker estimates etc.
Request an account by sending an e-mail to datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl using your Radboud email address. A limited number of accounts is available. In consultation with the data team, accounts are assigned for a limited time period.
Coverage : 1950 – present; daily updates
Self-teaching:
Workshops and presentations
Training videos (Scroll down to bottom of page)

---

The Statistical Data Warehouse provides features to access, find, compare, download and share the ECB's published statistical information.

Statistics Netherlands offers a wealth of data on the Dutch economy and society. From inflation to population, data are clearly presented as they are classified by theme, available to everyone.

The SDG indicator portal provides visualizations of the indicators that countries are choosing to report on for the SDGs: a bottom-up view of national indicator reporting, based on the top-down indicators selected by the United Nations (UN). The indicator data is compiled, as it becomes available, based on reviews of countries’ voluntary reports to the UN High-Level Political Forum. The data will be updated periodically as more countries submit these reports.

Data at https://w3.unece.org/PXWeb/en

UN data and statistics from the official UN statistics division. The database also contains important information regarding the (global) standardisation and methodology of statistics such as best practices and classifications. I also includes links to several other big databases.

Reliable and tested macroeconomic data. Statistics and indicators are available with regard to a wide range of themes such as education, health and nutrition, and poverty. The data is especially relevant for making comparisons of countries or regions. Time-series data per country is also available. You can go directly to the various indicators as well. Please note, a wide range of Worldbank data is also included in Refinitiv Eorkspace.

The World Management Survey is the first cross-country, cross-industry dataset built to measure the quality of management practices in establishments. Data from surveys of managers in manufacturing, health care, education and retail.
Registration needed for downloading data. Special request needed for some data (e.g. with identifiers).

The WVS seeks to help scientists and policy makers understand changes in the beliefs, values and motivations of people throughout the world, from 100 countries. Use this data to analyze such topics as economic development, democratization, religion, gender equality, social capital, and subjective well-being.
Registration needed for downloading data.

WRDS is a platform with aggregated and standarized financial data from different databases, such as BoardEx and Compustat (North America and Global)
To access the data in WRDS you'll need an account. To get one, register at Register for WRDS. All students can register as 'Masters/Undergrads'.
This account is personal and may not be shared with others. Only RU staff and students are permitted to use WRDS. Use your Radboud e-mail address.
If you need support you may use the options on WRDS yourself (e.g. Support - Getting Started), or contact us at datasupport-NSM@ubn.ru.nl (also for questions about accounts).

Zephyr is a database especially designed for performing event studies and tracking business rumours. Analyse events and deals like Mergers and Acquisitions (M&A), Initial Public Offerings (IPO's) and equity announcements by criteria or import a predefined set of deals. Please note, Zephyr data is included in Orbis, Orbis Bank Focus and M&A Research Catalyst.
Coverage: 1997 – present; updated daily
Self-teaching:
Support session event studies with Orbis M&A and LSEG, 2024

---