Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Publish or Perish: Searching for an author

Harzing's Publish or Perish tracks scholarly citations and calculates a number of citation and impact statistics

Explanation per database

When starting to search for an author name in the program the next screen appears:

1. You see the Saved queries and the created folders with your queries. Click on My searches with the right mouse button and select New Folder. Select the new folder and click the right mouse button to rename.
2. Appears the query that you create when you select the data source under 3. Drag the search to a folder under My searches to save it.

3. Select the data source you want to search in. For some databases a subscription is required.


4. The metrics of the results that have been found in screen 5 appear.
5. The results of your query appear here sorted by number of citations. Use checking, check all or uncheck items and the citation statistics will be recalculated in screen 4.

To search for journal articles in Crossref see tab: Searching for journal articles.

If you click on the  button the Crossref query appears:

Click on "How to search with Crossref" to see all options to search in this database! Below you find some examples.

Enter the author's last name only and the other fields. Beware that the maximum result in Crossref is 200 results.
 

If you search for an author's name:

1. Last name only [only if the last name is unique].

2. Full given name + Family name; sort by rank and move to last consecutive accurate result.

3. Do not: search for Initial + Family Name as CrossRef implements an OR search (i.e “J Bloggs” will result in all academics with initial J + all academics with last name Bloggs).

4. Do not: use AND or OR searches; they are not supported.

5. Affiliations search is not recommended because there is only a small set of institutes or universities available and no one-to-one link between author and affiliation.

6. Enter "Keywords" and  "Years" to reduce the amount of results

More info: https://harzing.com/resources/publish-or-perish/manual/using/use-cases/author-search

To search for journal articles in Google Scholar see tab: Searching for journal articles.

When clicking on the button the next screen appears:

 

Click on "How to search with Google Scholar" to see all options to search in this database! Below you find some examples.

Enter an author's name like this example above or with quotes "H Proper". Combine with boolean operator OR, AND: "H Proper" OR "E Proper". Other fields are optional. Click on Search or Search Direct.
The maximum number of results is limited to 1000. You can raise this via Preferences/Google Scholar/Maximum number of results per query. Restart the program.

It isn't possible to search for journal articles in Google Profile.

Click on the button to search for an author with a Google Scholar Profile.

Click on "How to search with Google Scholar Profiles" to see all options to search in this database! Below you find some examples.

Click on Find a profile and enter the "Profile search terms" and/or "Profile labels". Examples of profile lables are: "Social and health policy" or "Programming Languages".

Enter an author's name: Bart Jacobs or B Jacobs or Jacobs radboud and click at the right on "Search" or "Search Direct".
The maximum number of results is limited to 1000. You can raise this via Preferences/Google Scholar Profile/Maximum number of results per query. Restart the program.

If you know the Profile ID enter it:

All publications appear sorted by Cites and also the number of citations per year.

Click on Show profile to see the profile of the author on Google Scholar. Under Metrics all indexes appear.

To search for journal articles in Microsoft Academic see tab: Searching for journal articles.

Click the button, the next screen appears:

Click on "How to search with Microsoft Academic" to see all options to search in this database. Below you find some examples.

Enter an author's name like in this example with quotes "B Jacobs", and combine with OR for more author names, Affiliations: Radboud University
Study field: Computer Science and click Search Direct.
The maximum number of results is limited to 1000. You can raise this via Preferences/Microsoft Academic/Maximum number of results per query. Restart the program.

To search for journal articles in PubMed see tab: Searching for journal articles.

Click on the button and the next screen appears:

Click on "How to search with PubMed" to see all options to search in this database. Below you find some examples.

To search for an author's name, search for Lastname Initial: Flik G

The results you find are not clickable. Instead, you can right-click a result and select "Open article in Browser".

To search for journal articles in Scopus see tab: Searching for journal articles.

Click on the button and the next screen appears:

Click on "How to search with Scopus" to see all options to search in this database! Below you find some examples.

Search for an author's name:

1. Single initial + Family name: G Flik

2. Do not: search for Full given name + Family name as this will only give a sub-set of an academic’s publications.

3. Two author names separated by AND will report co-authored papers.

4. Do not use OR search, it is not supported

To search for journal articles in Web of Science see tab: Searching for journal articles.

If you click on the button the Web of Science query appears:

Click on "How to search with Web of Science" to see all options to search in this database! Below you find some examples.

Enter an author's name between quotes or another search term. Author names: Family name + Single Initial.
In the Affiliations field you can add Radboud Univ Nijmegen or Radboud University Nijmegen (Reprint Address in Web of Science) exactly to generate results. Radboud University or Nijmegen will give no results!
Then click on "Search" and "Search direct".
The maximum number of results is limited to 1000. You can raise this via Preferences/Web of Science/Maximum number of results per query. Restart the program.

Click on the button and the next screen appears:

You can now select the file with the extension ciw, csv, enw, ris or txt to import.

Click on "About importing external data" to see all options.