Library Guide Philosophy: Databases, dictionaries and encyclopedias

RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

A searchable archive of journal articles, in which the articles are available in full texts and retrievable from the first volume of a journal to three, four or five years ago.
Self-teaching: How to search JSTOR
Related archive: Periodicals Archive Online

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports

The Philosophers Index is a bibliographical database. This means that it contains information on (new) books and articles, as from 1940. By going through indexes and abstracts, this database can select relevant publications for the search terms you provide. The disciplines represented in the Philosophers index are: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.
Coverage: 1940 - present

Oxford Bibliographies contains peer reviewed encyclopaedia entries and bibliographies. The following modules are available:

• Architecture, Planning, and Preservation
  
• Art History
  
• Biblical Studies
  
• Classics
  
• Communication
  
• Environmental Science
  
• Islamic Studies
  
• Linguistics
  
• Literary and Critical Theory
  
• Medieval Studies
  
• Philosophy
  
• Renaissance and Reformation
  
• Urban Studies
  
• Victorian Literature
  

Dietrichs Index Philosophicus is a bibliographical database, with information on philosophical articles and reviews published between 1983 and 2009. There are several search strategies, with different results. See the Search Help for a user guide. This database does not provide direct access to the publications. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.
Coverage: 1983 - 2009

Womens Studies International is a bibliographical database with information on publications on womens studies. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.
Coverage: 1972 - present
Related: Atria - Institute on Gender Equality and Women's History

The Aristotle Latinus Database contains all Medieval Latin translations of Aristotles works. This database is not primarily intended for reading the texts, rather for examining the distribution of word-forms. An extensive manual is available on the webpage. For online access to the English translations of Aristotle, see Past Masters.
Related database: Past Masters

In Past Masters zijn in elektronische vorm de werken beschikbaar van enkele grote filosofen (Thomas van Aquino, Descartes, Fichte, Kant, Leibniz, Peirce, Schopenhauer, Wittgenstein) en werken uit de Britse filosofie van 1600-1900, theologie en de politieke filosofie. Tevens is het verzamelde werk van Darwin beschikbaar.

The International Medieval Bibliography is a bibliographical database which offers information about (new) publications on the Middle Ages. The focus is on publications about the late Antique period up to and including the late Middle Ages. The database does not provide direct access to the publications. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the University Library has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.
Coverage: 1967 - present

The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance is a bibliographical database, containing information about publications from 1965 until 2001. The focus of this database is on the history and culture of 16th and 17th century Europe. It covers subjects from the history of religion, philosophy, science, arts and gender studies up to military and political history. The database does not provide direct access to the publications. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.
Coverage: 1965 - 2001

Nietzsche Online is a database with all the works of Nietzsche. It provides online access to the editions of Nietzsches philosophical and philological works, as well as to his letters. A part of the secondary literature on Nietzsche is full text accessible here. Furthermore, it provides a few research tools, like the Nietzsche-Wörterbuch. A user manual is available.

Corpus Thomisticum provides almost all Thomas Aquinas works in Latin edition. In addition to this, it contains scans of manuscripts, a bibliography of publications on Thomas Aquinas, and several research tools. All primary texts of Thomas Aquinas on this page are in Latin. See Past Masters for online access to the English translations.
Related database: Past Masters

Bibliographie annuelle du moyen-âge tardif, published in collaboration with the Institut de Recherche et d’Histoire des Textes (Paris), is an up-to-date bibliography about late medieval authors and texts, and includes the manuscripts cited in catalogues by library collections, by genres, or by authors as well as in editions or other studies.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online is an encyclopaedia on philosophy. It provides articles on philosophers, philosophical schools and traditions, and philosophical concepts.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy contains extensive encyclopaedic articles on philosophers, philosophical schools and traditions, and philosophical concepts.

The Van Dale online dictionaries contain:

• Van Dale Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal - de Dikke Van Dale
  
• Van Dale Groot woordenboek Hedendaags Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Dutch-English / English-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-German / German-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-French / French-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Spanish / Spanish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Italian / Italian-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Portugese / Portugese-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Swedish / Swedish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Engels
  
• Synoniemen
  
• Spellinghulp
  
• Juridisch (Fockema Andreae's Juridisch woordenboek)

Nexis Uni is a database with full text articles derived from Dutch newspapers (national and regional), foreign newspapers and Dutch news magazines.
Coverage: circa 1990 - present, daily updates
Manual: Help Topics for Nexis Uni