It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library guide Philosophy: Home
All library services and resources in the field of Philosophy
RUQuestThis link opens in a new windowAll subjects; journals, books, journal articles
RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'. Tutorial: RUQuest
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowGeneral; journal articles
A searchable archive of journal articles, in which the articles are available in full texts and retrievable from the first volume of a journal to three, four or five years ago. Self-teaching: How to search JSTOR Related archive: Periodicals Archive Online
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowAlle vakgebieden; tijdschriftartikelen
Het Web of Science van Clarivate Analytics bevat verwijzingen naar internationale tijdschriftartikelen uit alle wetenschapsgebieden.
De gegevens van acht citatie-indexen zijn opgenomen:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Bijzonder aan citatie-indexen is, dat kan worden opgezocht in welke later verschenen tijdschriftartikelen een publicatie wordt aangehaald. Bereik: dagelijkse updates Zelfstudiemodule: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources Gerelateerd: Journal Citation Reports
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowAll subjects; journal articles and books. Citation scores
In Google Scholar, you can find references to academic publications in many different disciplines and forms (e.g. journal articles and preprints). A lot of these publications are available freely online.
Citation data of the publication (who cites who in Google Scholar) can be found at 'Cited by'. Manual: Connect Google Scholar to the University Library
Subject databases Philosophy
Philosopher's IndexThis link opens in a new windowPhilosophy, bibliographical database, articles and books
The Philosophers Index is a bibliographical database. This means that it contains information on (new) books and articles, as from 1940. By going through indexes and abstracts, this database can select relevant publications for the search terms you provide. The disciplines represented in the Philosophers index are: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest. Coverage: 1940 - present
PhilPapersThis link opens in a new windowPhilosophy, bibliographical database, open access archive
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Dietrichs Index Philosophicus is a bibliographical database, with information on philosophical articles and reviews published between 1983 and 2009. There are several search strategies, with different results. See the Search Help for a user guide. This database does not provide direct access to the publications. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest. Coverage: 1983 - 2009
The International Philosophical Bibliography is a bibliographical database. It contains information on (new) publications on philosophy. You can do a subject search, but it is also possible to browse the contents. All philosophical disciplines are represented, the main focus is on continental philosophy and the history of philosophy. A user manual is available at help. This database does not provide direct access to the publications. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the University Library has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest. Coverage: IPB Full: 1997 - present ; IPB retrospective: 1985 - 1996