Skip to Main Content

Library Guide Pedagogical and Educational Sciences: More on ...

Resources and services of the University Library in the field of pedagogical and educatonal sciences.

Searching for literature

Team UBN - Social Sciences are present at Maria Montessori building, room MM01.044. Make an appointment via infosw@ubn.ru.nl or walk in if you have questions about:

  • databases, such as Web of Science, PsycINFO, ERIC, Sociological Abstracts
  • effective subject searching in the various databases
  • the digital and printed collection of social sciences
  • how to cite literature
  • the EndNote program to manage your references
  • literature search for a systematic (literature) review

Citation styles and EndNote

The most commonly used citation styles within the social sciences are APA and Chicago.
The program EndNote can arrange references according to these citation styles.

 

The citation style APA (American Psychological Association) uses the author-date method for references in the text and reference lists in papers and theses.

The guide Citing sources in APA style 7th ed. is based on the 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

 

The Chicago citation style is used within the social sciences and humanities. Chicago 17th B also uses the author-date method for references in the text and reference lists in papers and theses.

The latest edition is the 17th edition. This editon is available digitally.

The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide gives you a quick overview of correct citing according to this style.

EndNote is a program for collecting and managing literature references. In word processors EndNote ensures that references in the text and in the reference list are cited correctly according to styles like APA and Chicago. The many features of the program are described in EndNote 21 Basic course.

Elearning

We offer a range of interactive e-learning modules to use at your own pace, at your own time. You will gain more in-depth knowledge of specific databases or issues such as plagiarism and data management.

Overview of all self-study modules (e-learning modules, videos and tutorials)

Please contact us on infosw@ubn.ru.nl if you have a suggestion for an e-learning module.

Collection Social Sciences

The print collection of social sciences (anthropology and development studies, communication science, pedagogical and educational sciences, psychology, artificial intelligence, and sociology) is located:

  • partly in the Central Library: about 400 textbooks (reference only)
  • partly on open shelves in De Verdieping (-1) in the Central Library: about 3,000 recently acquired and frequently borrowed books (lendable)
  • for the most part in closed stacks in the Central Library: 30,000 books (lendable).

Your student card or staff pass is your library card. In RUQuest you can reserve books and journal volumes by logging in with your RU credentials. Follow the link for more information on borrowing, reserving and renewing.

The continuously growing collection e-books of social sciences you can open and read any time, any place.

Compulsory textbooks 2024-2025

Overview of all compulsory textbooks (print books & e-books) per study programme, as listed in the Course guides for Social Sciences.

Study programmes Social Sciences

        Research master

Freely accessible textbooks