It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library guide English Language and Culture / American Studies: Home
All library services and resources in the fields of English and American studies
RUQuestThis link opens in a new windowAll subjects; journals, books, journal articles
RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'. Tutorial: RUQuest
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowGeneral; journal articles
A searchable archive of journal articles, in which the articles are available in full texts and retrievable from the first volume of a journal to three, four or five years ago. Self-teaching: How to search JSTOR Related archive: Periodicals Archive Online
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowAll subjects; journal articles
The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains references of international journal articles from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited. Coverage: daily updates Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources Related: Journal Citation Reports
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowAll subjects; journal articles and books. Citation scores
In Google Scholar, you can find references to academic publications in many different disciplines and forms (e.g. journal articles and preprints). A lot of these publications are available freely online.
Citation data of the publication (who cites who in Google Scholar) can be found at 'Cited by'. Manual: Connect Google Scholar to the University Library
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) contains references to journal articles and books in the fields of modern language and literature. Coverage from 1963. Coverage: 1963 - present
America: History & Life contains references of journal articles, book reviews and audio-visual products about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the prehistory till now. Coverage: 1964 - present
In Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA), there are references to journal articles, books, American dissertations and book reviews in the field of linguistics and language behaviour. Coverage: 1973 - present