It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library guide Communication and Information Studies: Databases, dictionaries and encyclopedias
All library services and resources in the field of Communication and Information studies
In the list below you can find interdisciplinary databases.These databases are not primarily meant for communication and information studies, nevertheless they contain many relevant titles.
RUQuestThis link opens in a new windowAll subjects; journals, books, journal articles
RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'. Tutorial: RUQuest
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowGeneral; journal articles
A searchable archive of journal articles, in which the articles are available in full texts and retrievable from the first volume of a journal to three, four or five years ago. Self-teaching: How to search JSTOR Related archive: Periodicals Archive Online
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowAll subjects; journal articles
The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains references of international journal articles from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited. Coverage: daily updates Related: Journal Citation Reports
Communication Abstracts contains references to journal articles, books and book chapters in the field of communication studies and mass media. Coverage: 1977 - present, updated bimonthly Related database: PsycINFO (media psychology)
In Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA), there are references to journal articles, books, American dissertations and book reviews in the field of linguistics and language behaviour. Coverage: 1973 - present
Bibliography, Linguistics and Literature studies, Articles and books
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) contains references to journal articles and books in the fields of modern language and literature. Coverage from 1963. Coverage: 1963 - present
Nexis Uni is a database with full text articles derived from Dutch newspapers (national and regional), foreign newspapers and Dutch news magazines. Coverage: circa 1990 - present, daily updates Manual: Help Topics for Nexis Uni
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsychology; journal articles, book chapters
A comprehensive database with international coverage of the professional and academic peer reviewed literature in the field of psychology, and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as Medicine, Psychiatry, Nursing, Sociology, Education, Pharmacology, Physiology, Linguistics, Communication, and Anthropology.
The database includes references and abstracts from:
- more than 2,000 journals
- dissertations in more than 30 languages
- book chapters and books in the English language Coverage: 1806 - present, weekly updates Self-teaching module: PsycINFO Basics Related databases: PubMed, Web of Science
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowSociology; journal articles, congress abstracts, dissertations
A comprehensive database with references and abstracts to international, academic peer reviewed journal articles from over a thousand core serials, conference papers, book reviews and American dissertations in the field of sociology, and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences, such as Anthropology, Psychology, Education, and Communication. Cited references have been included since 2002. Coverage: 1952 - present, monthly updates Related databases: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Web of Science
Womens Studies International is a bibliographical database with information on publications on womens studies. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest. Coverage: 1972 - present Related: Atria - Institute on Gender Equality and Women's History