Library Guide Theology: Databases, dictionaries and encyclopedias

RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

A searchable archive of journal articles, in which the articles are available in full texts and retrievable from the first volume of a journal to three, four or five years ago.
Self-teaching: How to search JSTOR
Related archive: Periodicals Archive Online

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports

The ATLA Religion Database is a bibliographical database. This means that it contains information on relevant literature for theology and religious studies. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the library has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.

Oxford Bibliographies contains peer reviewed encyclopaedia entries and bibliographies. The following modules are available:

• Architecture, Planning, and Preservation
  
• Art History
  
• Biblical Studies
  
• Classics
  
• Communication
  
• Environmental Science
  
• Islamic Studies
  
• Linguistics
  
• Literary and Critical Theory
  
• Medieval Studies
  
• Philosophy
  
• Renaissance and Reformation
  
• Urban Studies
  
• Victorian Literature
  

Bibliographie annuelle du moyen-âge tardif, published in collaboration with the Institut de Recherche et d’Histoire des Textes (Paris), is an up-to-date bibliography about late medieval authors and texts, and includes the manuscripts cited in catalogues by library collections, by genres, or by authors as well as in editions or other studies.

The China Historical Christian Database (CHCD) quantifies and visualizes the place of Christianity in modern China from 1550 to 1950.

The Index Religiosus is a bibliographical database. This means that it contains information on relevant literature for theology and religious studies. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the library has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.

The International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance is a bibliographical database, containing information about publications from 1965 until 2001. The focus of this database is on the history and culture of 16th and 17th century Europe. It covers subjects from the history of religion, philosophy, science, arts and gender studies up to military and political history. The database does not provide direct access to the publications. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the UB has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.
Coverage: 1965 - 2001

The International Medieval Bibliography is a bibliographical database which offers information about (new) publications on the Middle Ages. The focus is on publications about the late Antique period up to and including the late Middle Ages. The database does not provide direct access to the publications. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the University Library has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.
Coverage: 1967 - present

The New Testament Abstracts is a bibliographical database. It contains information on relevant academic literature on the New Testament. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the library has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.

The Old Testament Abstracts is a bibliographical database. It contains information on relevant academic literature on the Old Testament. A user manual is available. This database does not provide access to the publications directly. Use the button Full-Text? to check whether the library has access to it, or look up the title in RUQuest.

The Coptic Gnostic Library Online contains the complete edition of the Nag Hammadi codices, which are an important source of information for the Gnostic religion. The edition is in Coptic, but the prefaces and commentaries are in English.

Corpus Thomisticum provides almost all Thomas Aquinas works in Latin edition. In addition to this, it contains scans of manuscripts, a bibliography of publications on Thomas Aquinas, and several research tools. All primary texts of Thomas Aquinas on this page are in Latin. See Past Masters for online access to the English translations.
Related database: Past Masters

The Patrologia Latina is an electronic version of Jacques-Paul Mignes 19th century edition of works of the Church Fathers between 200 and 1216.

The Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity focuses on the history of early Christian texts, authors, ideas. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE.

The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online describes aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language.

The Coptic Gnostic Library Online contains the complete edition of the Nag Hammadi codices, which are an important source of information for the Gnostic religion. The edition is in Coptic, but the prefaces and commentaries are in English.

The Theologische Realenzyklopädie Online is a German encyclopedia on theology.

The Van Dale online dictionaries contain:

• Van Dale Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal - de Dikke Van Dale
  
• Van Dale Groot woordenboek Hedendaags Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Dutch-English / English-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-German / German-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-French / French-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Spanish / Spanish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Italian / Italian-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Portugese / Portugese-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Swedish / Swedish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Engels
  
• Synoniemen
  
• Spellinghulp
  
• Juridisch (Fockema Andreae's Juridisch woordenboek)

The catalogue of the Katholiek Documentatie Centrum contains references to archives, library materials, visual materials and AV documentation about Dutch Catholicism starting from the 19th century.