Library Guide Geography, Planning & Environment:  by name

4TU.ResearchData provides an archive for long-term access and curation of research datasets, with a focus on data from science, engineering and technology. The archive went live in 2010 and since then has been managed as a service for researchers (from universities around the world) to deposit and share their data, and for other researchers to download and use data in their research.

About the Netherlands

Data Basin is a free online system that connects users with spatial datasets, tool and expertise. Global

This portal provides an overview of all available datasets provided by government organisations in the Netherlands.

Website published by Statistics Netherlands, Wageningen University & Research centre and Netherlands environmental assessments agency.

The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) gives you access to open data published by EU institutions and bodies. All the data you can find via this catalogue are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.

ECOI offers information on the political situation and living conditions, for countries of origin of asylum applicants in Europe. ECOI is managed by a department of the Austrian Red Cross, the Austrian Centre for Country of Origin and Asylum Research and Documentation (ACCORD). The database mainly contains reports, news and maps, with a focus on countries of origin. By providing this information ACCORD aims to promote 'fair and efficient refugee status determination procedures'.

The European environment information and observation network (Eionet) is a partnership network of the EEA and its member and cooperating countries. Through Eionet, the EEA brings together environmental information from individual countries concentrating on the delivery of timely, nationally validated, high-quality data.

Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. This website contains a statistics database

The Global Data Lab develops instruments for monitoring and analyzing the status and progress of societies. Instruments include indicators, specialized databases, and web-based tools.

A World Health Organisation (WHO) project to provide data and analyses on global health priorities.

Datasets in environmental and social sciences, as well as data from other disciplines including government data and data provided by news organizations.
Dataset Search lets you find datasets wherever they’re hosted, whether it’s a publisher's site, a digital library, or an author's personal web page.

global fertility data

The eLibrary of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) contains journals, books, working papers and studies, data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and much more.
IMF eLibrary also provides options to use data to make your own statistics and to export data in various formats.
Self-teaching: Tutorial

---

Portal of the European Commission related to the Inspire Directive aimed at creating a European Union spatial data infrastructure for the purposes of EU environmental policies.

Global Migration Data

Portal for scientific information, including (open access) publications from the repositories of all the Dutch universities, KNAW, NWO and a number of research institutes, datasets from some data archives as well as descriptions of research projects, researchers and research institutes.

Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Find publications, e.g. reports, papers and statistics organised both thematically and by country.
The University Library provides access to the 'Books', 'Papers' and the 'Statistics'. The RU-subscription does not include the IEA Statistics (International Energy Agency).
Self-teaching:
Tutorial video

---

The International Development Statistics (IDS) online databases cover bilateral, multilateral aid (ODA) and private providers’ aid and other resource flows to developing countries.

about the Netherlands

Bestemmingsplannen, structuurvisies

TransAct is a center of expertise gathering researchers from different disciplines at Radboud Faculty of Management that contributes to the understanding and governance of transformative change.

UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

Its online database holds national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP

The databases within FAO cover a broad spectrum of topics related to food security and agriculture.

UNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources. The themes and indicator tables were selected based on the current demands for international environmental statistics and the availability of internationally comparable data. Indicator tables, charts and maps with relatively good quality and coverage across countries, as well as links to other international sources, are provided under each theme.

Wikidata is a free and open knowledge base for the structured data of its Wikimedia sister projects including Wikipedia, Wikivoyage, Wiktionary, Wikisource, and others.

Natural and man-made environmental resources – fresh water, clean air, forests, grasslands, marine resources, and agro-ecosystems – provide sustenance and a foundation for social and economic development. Data here cover forests, biodiversity, emissions, and pollution. Other indicators relevant to the environment are found under data pages for Agriculture & Rural Development, Energy & Mining, Infrastructure, and Urban Development.

Reliable and tested macroeconomic data. Statistics and indicators are available with regard to a wide range of themes such as education, health and nutrition, and poverty and equity.
The data is especially relevant for making comparisons of countries or regions. Time-series data per country is also available. You can go directly to the various indicators as well.

Data from the World Bank. Indicators include: agricultural development, economic policy, education, health & more

detailed global mortality and population data.