Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guide Religious Studies: Databases, dictionaries and encyclopedias

All library services and resources in the field of Religious studies

General databases

These interdisciplinary databases are not primarily meant for religious studies,  but they contain many relevant titles. 

Subject Databases Religious Studies

The databases in the list below are specifically aimed at religious studies. See 'more' for a short description of the database.

Religious Studies

Islam Studies

Encyclopedias

Online encyclopedias for religious studies. Printed encyclopedias and reference books are available in the Reading Room at the ground floor of the Central Library.

Religious Studies

Islam Studies

More reference works in the field of religion on Oxford reference.

Dictionaries

Below you find several dictionaries for interpreting and translating texts.

Catholic Documentation Centre

The Catholic Documentation Centre preserves, organizes and provides access to archives, books, brochures, magazines, photos, video and audio recordings from 1800, and digital sources from private collections of Catholic individuals and collections from civic Catholic organizations in the Netherlands. They are located in the Central Library, 1st floor.