Library Guide Psychology: Resources

A comprehensive database with international coverage of the professional and academic peer reviewed literature in the field of psychology, and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as Medicine, Psychiatry, Nursing, Sociology, Education, Pharmacology, Physiology, Linguistics, Communication, and Anthropology.
The database includes references and abstracts from:
- more than 2,000 journals
- dissertations in more than 30 languages
- book chapters and books in the English language
Coverage: 1806 - present, weekly updates
Self-teaching module: PsycINFO Basics
Related databases: PubMed, Web of Science

PubMed is a freely accessible database and the most consulted database for biomedical research articles. Its content contains Medline, but with a different search interface and search options.
Coverage: 1946 - present, daily updates
Self-teaching module: PubMed Basics, PubMed Advanced
Related databases: Embase, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

The Web of Science by Clarivate Analytics contains the Web of Science Core Collection (from 1945-...) with references of international journal articles, conference proceedings, books and book chapters from all scientific disciplines.
It includes data from eight citation indexes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
- Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
- Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
Chemical indexes:
- Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)
- Index Chemicus (IC)
Citation indexes offer a unique search method to find later-published journal articles, in which a publication is cited.
Coverage: daily updates

Note: When you, as student/employee of Radboud University/Radboudumc, create alerts and/or save information in Web of Science, Clarivate asks you to create a personal account. If you choose to create a personal account, the responsibility for this Processing of Personal Data lies with you as student/employee.

Self-teaching module: Web of Science Help, Web of Science Platform: Training Resources
Related: Journal Citation Reports

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) contains references to journal articles, reports (ED-numbers) and books in the field of education.
Coverage: 1965 - present, monthly updates

Embase is one of the largest databases for biomedical research articles. It is especially useful to find literature on drugs, chemicals and medical devices. Medline records from 2010 onwards are included.
Coverage: 1974 - present, daily updates (conference abstracts indexed from 2009 present)
Self-teaching module: Embase LibGuide
Recommended related databases: PubMed / MEDLINE, Cochrane Library, Web of Science

A comprehensive database with references and abstracts to international, academic peer reviewed journal articles from over a thousand core serials, conference papers, book reviews and American dissertations in the field of sociology, and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences, such as Anthropology, Psychology, Education, and Communication. Cited references have been included since 2002.
Coverage: 1952 - present, monthly updates
Related databases: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Web of Science

Communication Abstracts contains references to journal articles, books and book chapters in the field of communication studies and mass media.
Coverage: 1977 - present, updated bimonthly
Related database: PsycINFO (media psychology)

The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes bibliographic references to international journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters in the field of economy, political science, social and cultural anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - present, updated bi-weekly
Related database: Sociological Abstracts

In Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA), there are references to journal articles, books, American dissertations and book reviews in the field of linguistics and language behaviour.
Coverage: 1973 - present

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) contains references to journal articles and books in the fields of modern language and literature. Coverage from 1963.
Coverage: 1963 - present

PTSDpubs is a database with citations of literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
Coverage: 1871 - present, monthly updates
Related databases: PsycINFO, PubMed

RUQuest is a search engine for the collection of the RU University Library, Nijmegen, and for collections of other libraries worldwide.
RUQuest contains printed and digital books, periodicals, journal articles, book chapters and more.
Full text publications can be opened by clicking 'View full text'.
Tutorial: RUQuest

In Google Scholar, you can find references to academic publications in many different disciplines and forms (e.g. journal articles and preprints). A lot of these publications are available freely online.
Citation data of the publication (who cites who in Google Scholar) can be found at 'Cited by'.
Manual: Connect Google Scholar to the University Library

Comprehensive multidisciplinary collection of references and abstracts of dissertations and theses from around the world, mainly from the United States. A preview of the first 24 pages of each publication is available for most.
Coverage: 1637 - present

Nexis Uni is a database with full text articles derived from Dutch newspapers (national and regional), foreign newspapers and Dutch news magazines.
Coverage: circa 1990 - present, daily updates
Manual: Help Topics for Nexis Uni

Digital archive of all Bachelor's and Master's Degree theses, undertaken at Radboud University.

The Radboud Repository contains the (open access) academic output of the Radboud University, amongst which are all digitised theses published since the founding of the University in 1923.
Introductory video: Radboud Repository in a nutshell

This portal with research information from Dutch institutions was initiated by the UKB and SURF as a successor to NARCIS.
Related database: Radboud Repository

Contains DSM-5 (2013) and DSM-5-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Text Revision (2022), produced by the American Psychiatric Association (APA).

Current list of psycho-diagnostic test reviews by Commissie Testaangelegenheden Nederland (COTAN). In Dutch only.

The Van Dale online dictionaries contain:

• Van Dale Groot woordenboek van de Nederlandse taal - de Dikke Van Dale
  
• Van Dale Groot woordenboek Hedendaags Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Dutch-English / English-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-German / German-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-French / French-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Spanish / Spanish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Italian / Italian-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Portugese / Portugese-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Dutch-Swedish / Swedish-Dutch
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Nederlands
  
• Van Dale Taalhandboek Engels
  
• Synoniemen
  
• Spellinghulp
  
• Juridisch (Fockema Andreae's Juridisch woordenboek)

Encyclopedia of Health and Aging is a reference work with a focus on the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging, and the impacts within the health-care system. it also provides information on aging-associated diseases and geriatric syndromes.

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience is a reference work with literature reviews on molecules, diseases, mechanisms, concepts in Neuroscience.
Related recommendation: Current Protocols in Neuroscience

Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery is a reference work with a focus on behavioural addictions and current practices in the prevention and treatment of substance abuse.

The twelve volumes of Handbook of Psychology cover the broad scope of psychological science and practice.
Volume 1: History of Psychology
Volume 2: Research Methods in Psychology
Volume 3: Behavioral Neuroscience
Volume 4: Experimental Psychology
Volume 5: Personality and Social Psychology
Volume 6: Developmental Psychology
Volume 7: Educational Psychology
Volume 8: Clinical Psychology
Volume 9: Health Psychology
Volume 10: Assessment Psychology
Volume 11: Forensic Psychology
Volume 12: Industrial and Organizational Psychology