Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACM Digital Library (English): Searching

The ACM Digital Library is a database for computing literature. It contains the complete electronic texts of ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) publications.

Contents

The ACM Digital Library homepage contains a number of sections. Click on the individual parts for explanation:

  1. Search bar
  2. Advanced Search
  3. Browse Digital Library
  4. Sign in and \ or register
  5. Browsing parts of the database
  6. Search tips

 

1. Search bar

Start by entering the search term and a number of examples will appear. You can click on an example or continue entering your search terms.

undefined

The search results appear:
1. Here you see the number of hits found in the ACM Full-Text Collection. Click Expand your search to the ACM Guide to Computing Literature for more results
2. In this menu you can refine your search results
3. You can click on the title for more information and you can export the results to EndNote or read the full text.
4. Here you can find results of your search in other sections.

undefined

2. Advanced Search

Advanced Search is located to the right below the search bar on the ACM homepage.

undefined

The ACM Digital Library contains 2 collections to search:

The ACM Full-Text Collection : will return results from all articles ever sponsored
or published by ACM along with a set of vetted, hosted content from select publishers.
All of this content is made available directly from The ACM Digital Library.

The ACM Guide to Computing Literature is the most comprehensive bibliographic
database focused exclusively on the field of computing. This database includes all of the
content from The ACM Full-Text Collection along with citations, and links where possible,
to all other publishers in computing.

Advanced Search is located to the right below the search bar on the ACM homepage.
You can search by words or phrases here. Phrases can be enclosed in double quotation marks.

1 Here you can choose the relevant field, eg Author. Fill in at Enter term: "Achten, Peter"
2 Here you can add search bars
3 Filter on a field here

undefined undefined

Filter on:

4  Make your choice here for matches all, any or none and then click Search

undefined

undefined

 

 In Filters you can enter and search for the fields:

  • Primary CSS :
  • CSS, f.e..: Networks

In the ACM Computing Classification System (CCS) compiled by ACM, authors can search the Index Terms and add them to their article. For more information about CCS, see 2012 ACM Computing Classification System.

3. Browse Digital Library

Here you can choose the publication type:

undefined

Here you can choose the publishers of these publication types:

undefined

If you clicked on Browse Books, the results will appear.
You can adjust and refine them in Applied Filters (1). Click on a title to see all the data of the book and to save the result (2)

undefined

 

undefined)

If you clicked Browse by Publisher, the results will appear.
You can adjust and refine them in Applied Filters (1). Click on a title (2) to view all the data of the book and to save the result.

undefined

In Collections you can browse the individual parts, as there are:

  • ACM International Conference Proceeding Series (ICPS)
  • ACM Classic Book Series
  • Hosted Content (Tijdschriften van andere uitgevers: MIT, Springer, etc.)
  • ACM Oral history interviews
  • ACM Curricula Recommendations
  • NSF Workshop Reports (National Science Foundation)
  • Datasets Artifacts (Software systemen, scripts, input datasets, etc.)
  • Software Artifacts (Software systemen, scripts, input datasets, etc.)

undefined

4. Sign in and \ or register

At the top right of the home screen, click Sign in if you have an account or Register.
Registration is free. Enter your email address and click Continue. Fill in the fields and click Continue.
undefined

If you have an account click on Sign in and choose Personal Login.

undefined

With an account you can save results in My Binders or create alerts via My Saved Searches.

5. Browsing parts of the database

Click on the individual parts to search:

undefined

For example Journals. You can click on a tile with a journal title or do a search at the top right.
undefined

6.Search tips

  • Search for exact phrases or names by using double quotations marks: "museum of natural history"
  • Exclude a term by using a minus sign (-): museum -Paris
  • Search for an exact term: NeXT
  • Use an asterisk (*) to replace one or more characters