Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote X9 Basic course

3.5 Connecting to databases from within EndNote

What is a connection file?
A connection file is a piece of software with which you make a connection to a bibliographic database. Without leaving EndNote you can search the database and save your references into your EndNote library.
Not all databases support this function.

Connection files are included in EndNote but often you cannot use them because the databases are screened.
Connection files for free databases like PubMed, which are included in EndNote, can be used.

If you work with EndNote off campus you must make some adjustments (once-only), so you can access the database from your home.
This is what you must do:

  • In EndNote go to “Edit” – “Preferences” – “URL & Links”
  • Replace “ISI BASE URL” by https://ru.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link
  • In “Preferences” go to “Find Full Text”. Mark the options.
  • Fill in “OpenURL Path”: https://ru.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link
  • Place after “Authenticate with URL”: https://ru.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

Working in EndNote with a connection goes as follows:

Click in the top left on the globe: the Online Seach Mode button:

On the left side look for “Online search”. It is possible that some databases are already mentioned. You can use them.
It is also possible you only see the button “More”. With this you can connect to all databases. 

Clicking on “More” you see all the connection files for available databases.

You can choose a connection file from the list. The connection files modified by the University Library, 
which you have downloaded from the webpage mentioned above, can be found via “Find”under “ru”.

Select a connection file and click on “Choose”.

If the connection is made an Online Search dialogue box is opened at the top of the screen.

Here you can fill in your search terms, for instance in the first field smoking and in the second field social support
(choose for “All fields” instead of “Author”and “Year” which are there by default).
Click on “Search”. You are informed about the results of the search (screen below). 

To retrieve the first 10 references you change the number in the second box into 10.
Then click on OK and the references are shown: 

You open a reference by double clicking.

At this moment the references are not yet saved in your EndNote library.
You can save them by selecting references (click on one and press on the CTRL-key if you want to select more).

After selecting click on the button
to save them in a library.
The references are saved in the local library (that is the library you have chosen when you started EndNote).

If you want to continue searching, you can do that in the search screen at the top of the screen.
When you are finished, click on the Local Library Mode button top left, the left of these three buttons:  

More about connection files
Just like filters, connection files are not perfect.
Always check the references saved in your library.

Assignment 3

Assignment 3: Connecting to PubMed

You can do this assignment after section 3.5


PubMed is a widely used search system for searching journal articles in the field of medical sciences.
The search system is freely accessible. We connect to PubMed via the connection file which is included in the EndNote software.

  1. Open EndNote and create a new library.
  2. In EndNote use the connection file PubMed (NLM) to establish a connection to PubMed via the button
      or via Tools - Online Search.
  3. Search for references on nursing homes in the Netherlands (type: nursing homes Netherlands)
  4. Place the first 100 references found in the new library.


Feedback
Have a look at your library:

  • Have the references been imported correctly?
  • Did all the data end up in the right EndNote reference field?
  • Do the references have the correct reference types?